Oh na na, what’s my name?

February 21, 2012 at 6:57 am | Posted in Names | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , , ,

Recently, I received this in the post:

20120221-065702.jpg

Yes, on this occasion, it was quite an apt, amusing misnomer, as when the man at 3 kept calling me ‘Miss Pritt’, confusing me with a certain well-known brand of adhesive stick.

But get my name wrong when you really should be getting it right, and I won’t be happy. Example: I phoned 3 the other day to try to negotiate a discount, as I have had no signal whatsoever in my house for the past two weeks, and mostly no signal in the whole of Deal. Anyway, the first time I corrected the man when he called me ‘Miss Smith’, and told him I’d told a colleague of his already that I was ‘Miss Pirt’ now. The second time he called me ‘Miss Smith’, however, made me think that perhaps he wasn’t actually listening to me at all, and therefore could not only not get my name right, but he also couldn’t get me any discount. Trust me: get on the wrong side of the customer in the service industry, and neither you nor they will be happy.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

