Lunch at the Goods Shed, Canterbury

February 25, 2012 at 5:49 pm | Posted in Restaurant review | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

Today, I had lunch at the Goods Shed in Canterbury with my good friend Jenna. I hadn’t visited this lovely place for some time, so was feeling very excited at the prospect of another delicious meal there.

I was so hungry once I got there, that I thought I was going to be sick: clearly, breakfasting on endless coffees, Marlboro Lights and an almond macaroon was not the way forward. Oddly, however, a starter of chicken liver parfait, red onion chutney and melba toast was the perfect antidote to my nausea.

Next on the menu was pork, red cabbage and apple purée for Jenna and chicken breast, chorizo and leeks for me. The saltiness of the chorizo was the perfect foil to the freshness of the leeks; my only quibble would be that the roast potatoes could have been crunchier.

20120225-174301.jpg

Full as I was, I can rarely resist pudding, for which I chose blood orange posset served with thyme shortbread. I’ve only ever had lemon posset before, so was intrigued by the use of blood orange. I loved the shortbread more than I thought I would, and the blood orange jelly topping the posset was heavenly, but the posset itself lacked that distinct citrus which I was craving.

20120225-174643.jpg

All in all, it was a tasty, reasonably priced meal which reminded me why I love the Goods Shed. If you’re bored of chain restaurants and want to try something interesting for a change, take a trip to this restaurant.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

